The Misadventures of Mr and Mrs Anubis

Now we’re in trouble…….

8 week dry out October 20, 2008

Filed under: Exercise,Goals — mdmnore88 @ 5:23 pm
Tags: , ,

So this week begins the official Mrs. Anubis 8 week dry out.  Why is this such a big deal.  Well because it is damnitt!!  There is beer, wine, and liquor all throughout my home.  I love coming home from work, opening a Heineken, and reading my favorite blogs on the computer.  So, it begins.  No alcohol during my intense training for the 5k.  My birthday is in 3 weeks, which sucks too!  I sure hope Mr. Anubis enjoys those Heinekens in the fridge and drinks them in private or I’ll smack him.  I ran outside on Saturday for the first time in forever.  You know what I discovered?  It’s freakin’ cold and my windpipe hurts breathing cold air.  Perfect.  My 5k is in December and it will be 30 degrees colder.  Why can’t they have the “Who can run a 5k the fastest on a treadmill?” race?  I’d be number 1.  I also discovered I run a lot slower outside.  I was scrambling to keep my keys in my pocket, iPod from falling on the ground and breaking, and my phone (which is the only thing I have that has stopwatch capabilities) in my pocket without shutting it off accidentally.  Whatev.  I finished.  I was happy.  I ran 1 mile.  Walked 1 mile.  Ran 1/4 mile.  Walked 1/4 mile.  Ran 1/4 mile.  Walked 1/4 mile.  Next time I run outside I’ll totally be more prepared for unexpected elements.

 

Leave a Reply

