The Misadventures of Mr and Mrs Anubis

Now we’re in trouble…….

A real entry…. April 5, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — mdmnore88 @ 1:25 am

Of some sorts. I started my next class. Work is well work. It has it’s moments. Here is my bitching session.


I have 2 accounts. One is a joint account with Scotty, which is our regular banking account that we use every day. The other I’ve had for years, but I only kept it open because my gym membership was automatically deducted out of it every month. Well I haven’t written a check from that account in over 3 years. My Visa portion of the card only withdrawls from my joint account. Why are there charges out of my old account? There is never any money in there accept once a month for the gym. I didn’t give anyone any authorization to withdrawl from this account and someone somehow has decided to make attempts. Well now I have over $115 in overdraft fees. I called M&T and they told me they couldn’t dispute it over the phone since it wasn’t a Visa transaction. OK Fuck you too. They then told me that I had to go to the bank and fill out an affidavit of fraud. I told them I wasn’t paying any of it. They couldn’t even tell me who was trying to withdrawl not even a phone number. Listen, when I get my credit card statement for my regular credit cards they have phone numbers listed for all of the merchants. Why can’t M&T figure it out? Don’t know but I am totally not paying it. Then the Customer Service bitch told me if I keep my account in the red it will affect my credit. And I retorted with if you could give me some answers I would either pay it or dispute it. So on Friday I will be at M&T bank raising hell and probably changing to Bank of America. Which will be a pain in the ass because my mortgage is set up to automatically withdrawl every Monday after payday. So I will have to keep my accounts open until I transfer to Bank of America. I hate banks. I really hate M&T. One time I had all of these overdraft charges (again) that took my regular account into the red. Again the charges were mysterious but M&T kept giving me the $32 overdraft charge. Super. now the account was in the red and checks were bouncing. You know why everything was Fucked. Because the stupid cunt at the branch deposited mine and Scotts money into my unused account. I don’t know how it happened either because Scott’s name is not on the other account. Oh they said just transfer your money and we’ll take care of the overdraft charges. Fine. Went online tried to transfer, but since it was a hard check and not electronically deposited we had to wait a few days for the funds to clear. Finally I got a manager who totally tood responsibility and reversed the overdraft fees and in the mean time paid all of the checks written against the account. Third case. My deposit for the house was in my unused account. The real estate people were not supposed to cash it until settlement. Well they did and M&T let them cash the check for my joint account. The real estate people didn’t realize I didn’t have the funds in that account and I wasn’t going to put it into the account until settlement. M&T cashed the check, wiped my account clean, because I did have close to the amount in my account but not all of it. Then my other bills started to come out and yet again more overdraft charges. I couldn’t get out of the overdraft charges, because this time the real estate office was at fault. But why would they cash the check if all of the funds were not in that account. On top of it all the GREAT customer service with M&T talked me into changing my account to a direct checking account in order to avoid overdraft… I did that thinking that if I overdrawl for some reason I would not get the overdraft account. Well Direct Checking only works if you have a savings account and I have two checking accounts…. Fuck you very much. What they should have offered me was direct checking with a line of credit. The credit would post in case my funds were unavailable and then instead of getting overdraft fees, the line of credit would cover the overages and life would be grand. There is a monthly fee for that, but the way M&T likes to play it would be worth it. So again I’m on the phone with the customer service manager screaming. That time they knew it was their stupidity and took away all of the charges. I didn’t enroll because I was planning on changing banks. I guess I didn’t do it fast enough. The moral of this story. Don’t bank with M&T. Close your accounts and go somewhere else.

 

Leave a Reply

